Winter Fireflies

As I sat outside last night for a few moments of peace and solitude after my 4 children were in bed, I noticed the snow was sparkling. Winter Fireflies I call them. The first time I remember noticing how beautiful this phenomena is, I was driving down a country road not far from where I live. The headlights shining on the snow covered fields and rolling hills illuminated this beautiful site and I thought, “Wow, how come I’ve never noticed the beauty of that before?”  That was 3 years ago.

A week ago, I walked outside early one morning to put the dog out. As I stood in the shadow of our porch and looked at the rays of sun that had been missing for a few days I saw another wondrous site that I don’t remember having ever seen before. In the rays of the sun I could see ice crystals floating around like glitter. Those would be the ice crystals that make the beautiful decorative frost on the trees in the wee hours of the morning. It looked to me like a special effect out of a movie. It was absolutely stunning and beautiful.
I believe living in Minnesota for more than half of my life, I became a little “numb” (in more ways than 7) to the beauty of snow. There are so many beautiful differences to the type of snow that I never appreciated until now. Why I wonder do we lose that ability to see things for what they are?
Pre-Teen and Teenage me said, “Crap, it’s cold out there!  You want to go cross-country skiing in this?”or the standard, “Please drive us to the bus stop Mum, it’s freezing cold out there!” I certainly didn’t look outside in the 30 below weather and say, “Wow, it’s beautiful out there! Lets go outside and breathe it all in.”
I suppose it is true that when I was very young, say between the ages of 4 and 8 that I looked at things differently. I looked at them then the way my children look at things now. Excitement and joy and amazement in the littlest things. Perhaps that is why children, unlike so many adults, can find so many reasons to smile and be happy.




Never stop noticing the little things ♥
About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

Leave a Reply

