>"It’s all part of the plan… More or less"

>

I have heard these words a few times from my 3 and a half year old daughter. I asked her where she had heard them and she said, “Oso!” referring to Special Agent Oso from Disney Playhouse.
What was amazing to me was the way she chose to use these words. She tripped over something she and her twin sister were playing with and fell swiftly on her butt. I looked at her and said, “Are you okay?” and she said it. “It’s all part of the plan,” and with a smile “more or less.” Then she got up and proudly marched back to what she was doing with a big happy grin on her face.
Then it happened. One of those things your kid does that they know they shouldn’t have done and they just turn around and look at you like, “Oh no, I know I’m in trouble now.” In this case, eggs on the floor. Not cooked eggs, but raw, runny, slimy, messy eggs. The kind that etch paint off of cars and walls. I was getting ready to make quiche and while I was chopping up the spinach and bacon, my daughter had enlisted herself to help me make it. Splat! Eggs on the floor. When she looked up at me with those eyes that said, “Okay, I know. It’s my fault and I’ll clean it up.” I couldn’t help but think of that phrase. As we cleaned up the mess together, I said with a smile, “It’s okay. It’s all part of the plan…more or less.” She smiled at me and together we got it cleaned up.
I took a cue from her and when I ran into an obstacle, whether that be a frustrating person or situation, I thought about her saying those words and smiling. Just that one memory and that phrase let me see the situations with some light humour and put otherwise aggravating things into a better perspective. Learning from our children is something we would all do well to do. They are smart after all. They see what is, not what they’ve been taught they should see (as we supposedly smarter adults do). Usually I find kids look at mistakes and accidents lightly, if we let them.
Life is good, from the mountain on which I stand to gain my perspective. Even those things that come up through the day or week or month or year don’t look so negative when you consider, “It’s all part of the plan, more or less.”
About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

Leave a Reply

