A Wee Bit Over the Top…

I love animals. I love my pets. I love my horses. We have at present, 4 dogs, 1 cat, 1 bird and at least 3 horses. That last one depends upon which day you ask my husband how many because the number goes up and down. This morning I took a friend of mine and her recluse cat, Jinx, to the vet. Jinx needed a check up. She has been pulling tufts of hair out of her coat. I thought maybe she had mange? Not abnormal for a cat to get mangy. Easy fix for the vet, somewhat aggravating, annoying, worrisome and pricey for my friend.
Jinx has not been out of the house for about 4 years. Indoor kinda girl if you get my meaning. I was quite surprised this morning when ,once loaded in her crate and in my van, she was quiet. No meowing, crying, whining. Not quite sure if she was scared silent or just truly didn’t mind the ride. Good traveller that cat.
So I dropped the two of them off at the Vet clinic. Went down to the local grocery store and did my shopping and came back to pick them up. My friend said to me, “You’ll never guess what it is, you are going to laugh so hard.” So though this is short I thought I’d share because it made me shake my head and laugh all day. Even my 11 year old daughter is laughing at this.
Jinx, the recluse cat, is, according to the vet, nervous. This is the reason for her hair loss, for her pulling out clumps of hair. I thought, “Well that makes sense there has been people in and out over the holidays. Out of her normal routine.” Okay well I can kind of see that. The vet gave her a hydra-cortisone shot for her itching and hair loss. Then, the vet said, that they could put Jinx on Prozac or any other number of anti-depressants. I just about fell back out of the van.
At first I truly thought my friend was kidding. For what reason would a cat need anti depressants? A chemical imbalance perhaps? Her relationships aren’t working out? She’s a tad bit overweight, perhaps she’s eating disordered? WHAT?! Explain this to me. She’s single! Granted Jinx’s biological clock might be ticking since she is not spayed but they did recommend some Pheromone’s to help her through that. Seriously? REALLY?? I think perhaps we are taking this pet thing too far. Hey wait! Maybe it means that we as a general population are getting smarter? Perhaps it means that the drug companies are not making as much money in the depression line as they have been? Perhaps the Vets are getting kickbacks?
I love my pets truly. So, Doctor, my husband has this hunting dog in the back yard, he’s a Treeing Walker Hound (that means he locates Racoons). Dusty is very vocal when my husbands other hunting dog, an English Fox Hound (that means she tracks Coyotes) , gets to go out hunting in the winter and he doesn’t. What would you suggest? I know, I think he needs Ativan…
About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

One comment

  1. Gayle W.

    Yes, we live in a complex world. Sad testimony on our existence when our pets need to be medicated for dealing with life experiences.

Leave a Reply

