Princess Syndrome

I am so thankful! Beyond thankful that my girls are not princesses. With the release of Peggy Orenstein’s book, Cinderella Ate My Daughter: Dispatches from the Front Lines of the New Girlie-Girl Culture and accompanying news articles and press releases, it has made me seriously wonder what is to be gained from dressing babies and little girls up in frilly pink clothes and accentuating “what a cute pretty princess” that little girl is. I just really don’t get it.

Is it somewhere a desire that we as mothers wish we could live the life of a princess? As adults we know that the real world is not a castle, or even the court yard surrounding one. We know that most of us will not get to spend our time waltzing and spinning on toe and that most work situations require quick witted responses and hard work.

Don’t get me wrong, my children are polite. They are very pretty girls and strong. They love dancing and they do it well. The princess marketing of Disney characters has been around since Walt first put the princesses to music and motion.  However, not to the degree it is now. What in our generational psyche has got us doing this??  As I look at all of our children growing up too fast and being exposed to situations that are beyond their years, I can’t help but wonder how all of this Princess world of glitz and make up and Prince Charming Romances has added to it.

I may have to wait until my girls are grown to find that out if I’m raising them the best way. Perhaps they’ll resent me, for letting them be who they are, and following their bliss, whether that means letting them hunt, do carpentry, paint, play dress up or become scientists or veterinarians. Somehow, though I don’t think they will…

©Adrienne McLeod 2011

About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

One comment

  1. From one of a different generation, that played Cowboys’n’Indians as a kid: anything “Princess” is a pain in the @$$ but for special occasions.

    Then again, I’m the one that wants my daughter to get her Marine Mechanics licence the Summer sh…e’s 16: she can earn nearly a full years’ wages in a single summer, and what a way to pay for uni, eh?

    LMAO: the PARENTS are as much to blame, in my VHO.

Leave a Reply

