Morning Glories

The weather cooperated yesterday.  Didn’t have anything planned, nowhere in particular to go but it was really nice.  Spring is coming. And that got me thinking about the Morning Glories that will be blooming outside of my front door.

I have never been a gardener but I love flowers.  About five years ago as my husband drove down one of the country roads near our home, and he spied a lone Morning Glory wrapping itself up around  some soybeans in a field.  How he saw that I don’t know, there was only one but he dug it up and brought it home and we planted it.  The one flower bloomed half heartedly for about a week and then was gone.

The following year I went and bought a pack of Morning Glory seeds.  I started them as per the directions on the pack and low and behold they started coming up in the little pots I had planted them in.  The most amazing thing about these little plants is the rate at which they grow.  You can, if you watch them, see them pop out of the earth.  Everyday they seem to have grown another inch or two.

So out I went to our front walk way and planted them along the house beside the walk.  The first year they were beautiful they came up to about 3 feet and bloomed every morning.  Always in a different pattern.  Every day they looked different.  There were many days that I just sat outside and took a break for 5 minutes and watched them.  Morning Glories have a magnificent “China White” center.  It is a white that other than in watercolor paints and oils I have not seen before.  They have an iridescent quality to them.

Last year I planted more.  Not realizing of course how many seeds truly were in the ground.  Last year I had a wall of flowers that were so incredible it made me smile every morning I walked outside.  We put up some wire behind them so they could climb. But very quickly we deduced that wasn’t going to be enough. They had reached the top of the wire and started going sideways and started growing back down on themselves.  So up went some 4 x 8 lattice onto the side of our bricked home.  They  grew up our wall to about 8 feet.  There were so many of them in fact that the kids stopped being able to count and keep track.

The Hummingbirds love them and most mornings there was one in particular that would fly over and hover, watching me for a few moments and then go to work on the Morning Glories.  Ever had a Hummingbird look you in the eye? Very amazing thing to see this bird whose wings can beat at up to 90 beats per second and still be able to focus on looking at you!

A beautiful thing about Morning Glories, they bloom, as the name suggests, in the morning through the mid to late summer.  But as fall starts to nudge us with it’s gentle reminder that it will not always be so warm, they start to stay out all day long.

At the end of last fall, I looked at the number of seed pods on the then brownish plants clinging to the lattice on the wall.  I have collected probably the equivalent of 50 packs of seeds, given many away.  I can’t wait to see those flowers come up again.  Ah!!!!!

Spring is coming again!

©Adrienne McLeod 2011

About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

Leave a Reply

