How Do you Coin a Phrase?

How do you make a new word? How do you coin a phrase? My daughter has coined one .

My daughters word came very innocently while we were looking for dice to play the game “Farkle”.   My husband looked at her and said, “Have you seen the dice?” And very innocently and with a smile and a little bit of attitude she said, “I don’t know where your “far-KEL” dice are.” She was smiling the whole time. We of course tried not to laugh but failed miserably because both my husband and I, as well as a friend we had invited to play dice with, heard a completely different word. Suddenly she realized that the way in which she had used that word and the tone with which she said it made it come across a very different way.

I don’t know about you. But I myself have coined at least one word. My husband loves “hunting”. Now his definition of hunting andwhat it includes connotatively are different than mine. Hunting to him also incorporates the hours and hours of tedious tale telling that inevitably is a game of telephone. The beginning story always differs from the end story. You know what I mean right? The big fish that got away? Or the deer that after it’s processed and made into sausage goes from 170 pounds dressed to 250? The Coyote shot at 300 yards ends up being a 450 yard shot?I myself like to get in on the baseline story so that I know what really happened. As amazing as it may sound (and I say that with absolutely no facetious undertones) by the end of the day or weekend, most of them can’t remember what the original story was. I call this extended period of time after denotative hunting, fishing or recreational free time, frooking. Yes, it is a funny word, and very easy to fit in to a sentence. It means the extra time spent doing anything that accomplishes nothing that could be spent somewhere else doing anything that does accomplish something. Frooking also generally includes consumption of beer.

When I first came up with the term I laughed. Because at it’s root is a really great family. But also because of how quickly others around me picked up on it. Soon it wasn’t long before others in our circle of friends were accused of frooking. Now before any of you out their get carried away saying I’m picking on a singular family I might add that I have lived with name analogies my whole life. My first, of course, being Rocky – the movie that never dies. For most of my life I answered to Yo! Also, people were always trying to keep up with we Jones’ that’s because as Jones’ we always quested for something better hence the word Jonesin’ .

So I don’t want to hear that it’s wrong or mean simply embrace it. Take the new words and run with them! Because after a long day of running if we can’t find you, we’ll know you’re Far-kle Frooking!

©Adrienne McLeod 2011

About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

Leave a Reply

