What Do You Want ?

A few months ago I had one of those “Ah-ha” moments. I personally call them “slap the side of your head and say ‘doh’ moments”. The reason for this moment was that I had taken a peek at a couple of books that most of you are probably familiar with, The Secret and The Power. In those books it tells you to focus on what you want, NOT what you don’t want.

I have always been the type of person to say what I want. If someone asks me what I want for dinner I can usually tell them what I’m in the mood for. There are other people who when you say, “What do you want for dinner?” will give you that blank look and say they have no idea and then reply,”I don’t know, what do you want?” Exasperating to say the least.

It got me thinking and paying attention to how frequently we actually say what we want. This is a really important factor in getting your life to go as you want it to. When I was a young adult, I rode horses. Hunter/Jumpers to be precise. The biggest thing all of my instructors that I ever had told their students to do was, “Look where you want to go.” If you wanted to get thrown off at a 5 foot fence, then you looked down at the ground. If you wanted to get over it, you looked to the next fence. Horses can sense those kinds of things. This holds true for driving, sports, just about anything else in life. Look to where you want to go! Tell the universe what you want! “Doh!” I knew that!

The same holds true in life. If you can’t say to yourself what you DO want and where you DO want to go you are not going to get there easily. You will be lucky if you get there at all. So, what do you want? This is not something you can generally get the answer to by looking at your past. Especially if you are not where you want to be in your life right now.

There was a quote that has always stuck with me in a really good but obscure movie called “Dead Again” with Emma Thompson and Kenneth Branagh. In the movie, Robin Williams plays a de-funked psychologist. There is a scene in which he says, “Someone is either a smoker or a nonsmoker. There’s no in-between. The trick is to find out which one you are, and be that. Once you figure that out you’ll know.”  Oddly when I heard that, I heard in my head Gandhi’s words, “Be the change you want to see in the world.” or more precisely be the change you want to see in your world.

Whether what you want is more happiness, more joy, a better job, a better atmosphere at work a new career it is all possible.

So what do you want? Where do you want to be? Find out where that is and be that! Live that. Look to where you want to go and the path to get there will appear.

©Adrienne McLeod 2011

About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

3 comments

  1. Pete Verral

    Hi Adrienne,

    Sorry it’s taken me so long to wend my way to your web blog.

    Great writing!

    Keep at it.

    Pete
    P.S. I’ve subscribed to your blog.

  2. Great blog post Adrienne.

    Life is a rough draft and we can make it not so “rough” on ourselves by knowing ourselves well enough to know what we want.

    Judy

Leave a Reply

