The Things We Tell Our Kids

We have had “Charles Peter”, our cute little Budgie, for about 2 years now. Beautiful little bird. Charlie however doesn’t realize that he is on his second reincarnation. He has had 2 severe personality changes. Coinciding with traumatic events. When we got Charlie, he was young and very pretty. A turquoise blue with grey black bars that reminded me of the beautiful jewelry in the Southwestern United States. The kids love him! Occasionally he gets a bit crazy before storms (which indicates to him breeding season) but all in all, he is a fantastic bird.

Charlie used to like to fly around the room. We used to leave his door open so he could socialize at will. He had a free spirit then. He was great. He would sit perched on the racks of the critters on our wall. He would sit on my finger. Our Jack Russell didn’t bother him much. He sang beautifully. Awesome as far as I am concerned.

At night Charlie slept perched in his cage. He didn’t venture out much after the natural light went away. But last summer it was so warm that we had a fan going. The heat must have gotten to him. That started Charlie on his reincarnation journey.

When Charlie came back, he was not quite as friendly. Still the same bright turquoise blue color. Still the same beautiful song. He didn’t have, however, his free spirit anymore. He didn’t like to venture outside his cage. And he wasn’t all that friendly. He didn’t perch on my finger but we still loved him.

Through the fall and winter he went on, a little anti-social. (I attribute this to his traumatic event and that he seemed to be a very different bird). In the late fall, a kitten adopted us and we adjusted appropriately. The kids had a new fuzzy cute cuddly animal to take care of. Charlie never seemed to notice him, the kitten never seemed to notice Charlie much either. To be honest, I think the cat thinks he’s a Jack Russell. He and the dog get along famously. Playing, chasing each other, and rolling around like they’re wrestling. Through all of their games, there was Charlie, singing his song and content in his own environment.

About a month or two ago, the kitten, now a very strong and muscular pre-adult cat started to realize that there was something that needed his attention. That was Charlie. He could sit and stare at Charlie without moving a muscle for minutes. About 3 weeks ago the cat decided he’d had enough of watching Charlie. It was time for action. From about 10 feet away he soared through the air and attached himself to the side of Charlie’s cage.

I couldn’t believe the cat had just done that in front of me. The bottom fell out and Charlie flew like he’d never flown before. Shocking me into a few words that shouldn’t have been said. Charlie got down the stairs and my husband managed to catch the cat within feet of Charlie. We got the cage back together and got Charlie safely back inside where he perched very quietly. He had a minor personality change at that point and I thought, “This bird is going to have heart failure.” Shouldn’t have thought that.

Last weekend, Charlie moved on to his 2nd reincarnation. His personality change included a slight discoloring of his feathers. He is now a very pretty periwinkle blue. He is very friendly again. Will perch on my finger in the cage again and sings sweetly. He also brought a girlfriend with him this time. She is a bright yellow. The eldest of my 4 children, noticed the dramatic change in Charlies personality this time, so she got to name the girlfriend. Her name is Chelsea.

The cat is now quite bemused. If I had it my way the younger kids would have been informed of his personality disorder, perhaps it would have assisted Charlie in assimilating all 3 personalities. I don’t know. My husband apparently has a soft spot. One which I never expected. Though we hunt and the kids are exposed and join in on that activity, pets, even birds, are apparently a different story.

©Adrienne McLeod 2011


About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

Leave a Reply

