“Can’t is the Cancer of Happen”

I know, I know everyone is jumping on the Charlie Sheen bandwagon but honestly, you have to give credit to someone in the spotlight that is cleaning himself up no matter what the WHY is! Charlie, Hang in there buddy! Charlie used the phrase “ Can’t is the Cancer of Happen” February 28th, 2011 on ABCnews.

I am, as many of you know, a huge believer of saying what you do want, believing that you can and believing you are succeeding. That phrase “Can’t is the Cancer of Happen” is the epitome of the description of what negativity can do to a persons life. As cancer can destroy the body, a negative idea can deplete and destroy so many aspects of self esteem, confidence and the will to even try.

I see it all around me in many situations. I hear it will never work, it will never happen – never, never, never. I hear we can’t, I can’t do that, it can’t work. Worse than that is the “YOU can’t”. The only good thing about someone else saying this to someone is that occasionally they become defiant and say, “Oh YES I CAN!” Children say this all the time in direct defiance.

Look at this theory and quote, “Watch your thoughts, for they become words. Watch your words, for they become actions. Watch your actions, for they become habits. Watch your habits, for they become character. Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.” I have used this quote before. Finding who this quote is accurately attributed to leads to inclusive results. I will say though, whoever you are, wherever you are, thank you! This quote says exactly what will happen if you take the word can’t down the road with you.

It doesn’t matter in the long run what anyone else believes about what me or you or anyone else can do. It doesn’t matter in the long run if people believe that Charlie can do it or not. It is what he believes.

As hesitant as some of you may be about this, I would take those words of wisdom from Charlie and use them. Use them to remind yourself of the power of a positive thought, what it can do, what belief in the near impossible can do. You’ve all been there when someone has challenged you. Why does it take someone challenging you for you engage yourself? Challenge yourself, engage yourself. Say what you want to do, see it happen and believe you can! With that you are on your way to achieving!

©Adrienne McLeod 2011


 

About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

Leave a Reply

