It’s Over!

Spring Flowers

Image via Wikipedia

March break is over for us up here where I live. And yes, it served as a reminder of what I may have to look forward to in the summer. I say “may” because there is of course a few more months of growth to happen with my children before summer lets loose. I have hope that they will learn that moving a thing from a place it doesn’t belong to another place it doesn’t belong is NOT cleaning up. This did make sense to my daughter whom I heard restating that quote to her brother. I have hope that they will learn to revel in organization. That they will come to enjoy neatness. I have hope that they will realize that every time I pick up the phone it is not a cue to start making more noise, ask me questions and destroy the house. I have hope that they will learn to not hate the phrase “First things First”.

I learned a lot over spring break. I learned my children 8 and 11 are really smart. I learned they have an interest in sewing, which is awesome because I myself am currently not adept at working with a sewing machine. I learned that my daughter loves the fact that she can teach me something. She obviously is not aware that she teaches me things everyday.

I learned that my youngest daughter who is almost 4 weighs 50 pounds. I thank my sister in law for that one. Before anyone goes overboard and says that’s way too much, it is muscle in that girl and she is tall. She doesn’t look like she weighs 50 pounds. Unfortunately this is the child who apparently has no fear, who laughs at reprimand and giggles her way out of just about everything especially with her father. I was told by reliable confidential sources that this is a trait from my husbands side of the family. Don’t worry I’ll never divulge your name ;D

I learned that visualization works. I learned that to picture yourself there has as much power as anything in getting what you want. More on that to come at a slightly later date. But let me tell you the realization that saying what you want can lead to having it dropped in your lap for consideration is an amazing thing. Though I did know this for myself it is a great thing to see it happen to someone else.

I also learned that putting myself on a time out works. The kids think it’s funny and I get 10 minutes of quiet.

So for now I’m back to working on my writing, cleaning and being extremely grateful for the quiet time and recharge time that I am afforded by school being back in session. There are flowers to start, a yard to clean, walls and floors to scrub, rooms and trim to paint. For those of you just commencing spring break…I’ll talk to you in a week! Don’t forget to learn from your kids and smile!

©Adrienne McLeod 2011

About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

Leave a Reply

