Watching the Wheels

Ye old cart wheel

Image by sarniebill1 via Flickr

Where does the time go? I’m sitting here watching my youngest child learn to balance a two wheeler. Watching as all four of my children play in the field building a fort together. “They were all just babies yesterday.” I think as John Lennon’s song goes through my head.

Yesterday I was at a vacant lot throwing stones with my brother and feeling the sting of one bouncing off a sign and hitting me square in the eye. We’re playing on the backhoes and other equipment we aren’t supposed to play on. I’m climbing and falling out of trees I am not supposed to climb. As I suddenly hear a branch of a tree snap that my 9 year old son has climbed. How can this be? Yesterday, I was nine.

It’s an odd feeling, one an old friend of mine called “the shift”. We go from being young to suddenly being our parents generation. With seemingly no awareness of transition. Time playing on and watching the wheels.

365 days have passed since we were in California to see my Mum for the last time. “It can’t have been that long.” my brain says. But it has. It’s the mystery of time I guess. How a year when we are 10 is so much longer than a year at 43. It must be the ratio. One tenth of an entire life is much longer than one forty-third of an entire life. So the wheels turn faster.

As I watch the sun starting to go down I know that what seems like 10 minutes has been an hour and a half. I know that these moments of watching my children play will quickly pass and become proms, graduations and weddings. And it will all go by too fast.

But for now, just now, the best time on earth is just sitting here enjoying the moment and listening to the sound of my children’s laughter and watching the wheels…

About Adrienne

I am Canadian born, for those of you needing clarification. I was raised in Minnesota, The Land of 10,000 Lakes, Multiple Musical Geniuses, Lake Wobegon, and really, really cold winters. Writing, Music and Photography are my passions. My current companion is my camera though my guitars and the piano are always close by and often consulted. Inspiration is everywhere and so is beauty. I now reside in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada. I love to write, ponder and give back what I have learned in my journey with the hope that it will benefit others. www.spiritualitythinkaboutit.org www.12stepsthinkaboutit.org www.labyrinthphotos.com

One comment

  1. Very nicely written post that asks an important question about change and how swiftly time changes everything in life. I enjoyed reading your reflections as you mused about what you saw in the wheel turning. Life is a reflective process that is always letting go of one thing to embrace another.

    Best to you,

    Ronnie

Leave a Reply

